Welcome to Argence
between Aubrac and Viadène,
in the north of Aveyron

Situated to the South of the Massif Central, in the future Regional Natural Park of the Aubrac and bordered by the River Truyere, some kilometres from Laguiole, Mur de Barrez, Saint- Amans-des-Côts and Chaudes Aigues, Argences en Aubrac and Cantoin offer varied and magnificent landscapes.
Numerous ramblers take advantage of the high uplands of the Aubrac whose vast deserted extents give the impression of the end of the earth.
In each season,the Aubrac is unique. It is in the Autumn, the time of the Davalada (when the cattle come down from their summer pastures in the mountains) that it reveals its magic.

Not far from the Aubrac, you can explore the Gorges of the Truyere. Sheer cliffs covered in foliage are a playground for climbers, (tree climbing, rock climbing, via ferrata..) and the rivers offer an ideal spot for water-based activities (canyoning, fishing…).

The group of local authorities in the Argence is made up of several villages: Sainte Geneviève-sur-Argence, Alpuech, Cantoin, Graissac, Lacalm, La Terrisse and Vitrac-en-Viadène.
Numerous activities take place throughout the year: evening markets, village festivities, the Anim’Argence festival, with numerous concerts every Thursday evening during the summer and the Davalada in the Autumn.

Built on the granite and basalt landscape, you will find beautiful Norman and Gothic buildings, numerous sculpted crosses, bread ovens, old laundry houses . . . More recently, the Sarrans Dam (1933) is one of the most important hydro-electric structures in North Aveyron which connects Sainte Geneviève to Carladez (Mur-de-Barrez). It was emptied in 2014.

>> More about Argences en Aubrac

Bienvenue en Argence,
entre Aubrac et Viadène
dans le Nord Aveyron

Situé au sud du Massif Central, dans le futur Parc Naturel Régional de l’Aubrac et bordé par la Truyère, à quelques kilomètres de Laguiole, Mur de Barrez, Saint-Amans-des-Côts  et Chaudes Aigues, Argences en Aubrac et Cantoin offrent des paysages variés et grandioses.
Les hauts-plateaux de l’Aubrac proposent aux nombreux randonneurs de vastes étendues désertiques donnant une impression de bout du monde. A chaque saison l’Aubrac est unique. C’est à l’automne, temps de la Davalada (descente des troupeaux), qu’il révèle sa magie.

Non loin de l’Aubrac, vous pourrez découvrir les Gorges de la Truyère ; dans un écrin de verdure des parois abruptes font la joie des grimpeurs (accrobranche, escalade, via ferrata…) et les rivières sont des lieux propices aux sports aquatiques (canyoning, pêche…).

La commune nouvelle Argences en Aubrac (Sainte Geneviève-sur-Argence, Alpuech, Graissac, Lacalm, La Terrisse et Vitrac-en-Viadène) et Cantoin, destinations dynamiques avec de nombreuses animations qui s’y déroulent tout au long de l’année: les marchés nocturnes, les fêtes de village, le festival Anim’Argence et ses nombreux concerts tout les jeudis soirs de l’été et la Davalada à l’automne.

Implanté sur un sol granitique et basaltique, sont présents de beaux édifices romans et gothiques, de nombreuses croix sculptées, des fours à pain, lavoirs très anciens… Plus récent, le barrage de Sarrans (1933) est une des plus importantes constructions hydroélectriques du Nord Aveyron qui relie Sainte Geneviève au Carladez (Mur-de-Barrez). Il a été vidangé en 2014.

>> En savoir plus sur Argences en Aubrac